自画像和Burning Man项目

自画像

对于我来说,开始新的艺术创作的最有效方法就是从速写本中整理思绪和采集灵感。我在春假期间一项作业就是为了我的下一个艺术作品(一副关于“捕捉转瞬即逝之美”的自画像)以素描的方式画出十个想法。在我打开速写本和迁思回虑之前,这个课题对我而言十分枯燥无用,因为我早已习惯在脑海中为我的新画作探索不同的灵感和想法。万事开头难,找到第一个灵感对我来说总是艰难的,但是当我完成第一个想法的素描之后,接下来的其他的想法创作犹如顺水行舟。我感觉我就是一个在灵感海洋中撒大网的渔夫。从一个灵感到另一个,速写本上的十页纸不一会就被我画满了。

我现在着手的作品是一副基于我第三个想法的自画像: 我的面容和一座奖杯的躯干融为了一体,伴随着一条蛇和一朵玫瑰从奖杯的口冒出,象征着当我灵感突现时候的奇妙感觉以及我略带分裂性的人格。到目前为止,我遇到的最大挫折就是我无法将自己的原貌准确的描绘下来。就算我故意把自己的眼睛画的比实际大了一点,然后又省略掉了我的头发,这幅画最大的问题在于我的脸显得十分扁平。在我以为作品创作就要临近尾声的时候,Mrs. Smith一针见血的指出我在绘画脸部时的问题: 我之前绘画时所用的自拍照并没有足够强烈的光线对比,以至于我无法通过明暗来变出我五官的立体结构。于是我拍了一张光线对比度更强的自拍照,这样一来我之前存在的绘画问题就被完美地解决了。我终于可以认得出画纸上我的那张脸了。我现在还在思索我该在作品中运用什么样的背景,所以请各位读者们继续关注我后续对作品背景的添加的以及我最终的作品。

Burning Man Project: Tree of Wishes

我现在是12年级生John Jang唯一的官方助理。我们的Burning Man项目的名字叫做“许愿之树”。最初,构建树躯干的计划还是相当复杂的:PVC管被用来搭建树的内支撑系统,抛光的白色胶合板被用于构造树的骨架。我和John Jang两人当时遇到的有两大难题:一是我们到底需要多少数量的PVC管,二是我们能在哪里得到足够的采购经费。

多亏了Tabor Boy后勤组里一位杰出的佚名工匠(很遗憾我并不知道他/她的名字), 现在我们的计划变得格外简单。树的躯干不再由一个内部支撑结构和外层表皮组成,取而代之的方法是我们打算用一根纸管(sonotube)作为树的躯干。我们现在着手于把整根纸管(sonotube)染白。John和我都没有喷漆的经验,所以我们现在卡在了喷漆这一环节。不过明天将会是全新的一天,希望在Mrs. Smith的帮助下,我们的Burning Man Project能有所进展。

@Williams, Tabor
Apr. 23rd, 2015

发表评论

Self-Portrait and Burning Man Project

Self-Portrait

Collecting and sorting out ideas through sketchbook is truly an efficient way to kickstart a new project. I was assigned over Spring break to do ten sketches on my next project – a self portrait based on my theme “Catching the Evanescence”. Before I opened my sketchbook and started to brainstorm, the assignment seemed very tedious and useless to me – I was used to forming ideas in my mind before I picked one out and realized it. Yet, once the process of brainstorming started, I was fascinated by how powerful it could be. It was pretty difficult for me to draw the first sketch, but the process sped up so much after I successfully managed to create the first quick drawing. I felt like I was throwing a giant spiritual web into an unknown ocean of ideas. One idea led to another, ten pages of my sketchbook filled up really quickly.

The drawing that I am currently working on is based on my third sketch – my face is integrated into the body of a trophy and a snake and a rose are coming out of the opening, symbolizing the good feeling I sense when I get inspired and the split in my personality. The biggest struggle I have encountered so far was the resemblance between my drawing and my real face. Despite the fact that I drew my eyes a little bigger than how they really are and I did not include my hair into my drawing, the biggest problem was that the drawing of my face looked really flat. At the end, as Mrs. Smith pointed, the issue was that the contrast of lighting of the selfie I used to draw with was too low to emphasize the sense of three-dimension. So I took a new photo with better lighting, the problem was solved and now my face was standing vividly in the middle of the page.  I am still on my way of trying to figure out what the backgrounds should be. Please stay tuned for the solution of the background and pictures of the completed work.

Burning Man Project: Tree of Wishes

I am now the one and only official assistant to senior seawolf John Jang. Our Burning Man project is called “Tree of Wishes”. Originally, the plan to build the trunk of the tree was rather complicated: PVC pipes were going to be used to build the internal supporting structure of the tree, and the skeleton would be covered by polished plywood painted white. We were struggling with the quantity of PVC pipes and plywood that we should purchase and where the money should come from.

Thanks to a great artisan from the Tabor Boy crew(Sorry that I don’t really know his name), the current plan is so much more simpler. The trunk, instead of containing an inside structure and an outside layer, will be made out of a big sonotube, and we are currently on the process of painting the entire tube white. Neither John or I have spray-painted anything before, so we got stuck because of the lack of proper spray-painting skills. Tomorrow is another day, hopefully, under the help of Mrs. Smith, we can get our project up to speed.

@Williams, Tabor
Apr. 23rd, 2015

Leave a Reply