作品集:下一步

在经过一轮又一轮的头脑风暴之后,我终于确定了我新画的构图:我把肋骨,肺,还有七星瓢虫这三个元素融合在了一起。七星瓢虫作为主体,它的外壳被整套肋骨所替代。原本在外壳之下的翅膀变成了肺。这是我第一次用钢笔作画。最终的效果画面主体的效果还不错,但是我又一次为背景应该怎么画而发起了愁。我在一开始并没有为这个变异了的瓢虫构思场景,画这张画主要是为了尝试如何去把昆虫和人体部位结合,以及去熟悉墨水和钢笔作画的技巧。

在和Ms. Smith讨论过之后,我决定这幅画的背景从简处理:用刷子轻上一层淡绿带棕的水彩,以便凸显七星瓢虫的红。这幅画到最后也没能成为一幅完整的作品,但是是我对钢笔作画和超现实主义又一次有意义的探索。这幅画的真正意义在于它所激发的我下一幅画的灵感:画人体骨骼静物。

带着这个想法,马上我就会和画室里的骨骼标本Pablo成为好朋友的。在画画的时候,我还会思考着“通过观察作画”这个命题的真正含义。如果有任何好的灵感迸发,那么我的RISD Drawing们就又着落了。

来吧,作品集的准备就剩下最后冲刺了

祝我好运吧。

@Williams, Tabor
2015年10月12日

发表评论

Portfolio, Next Move

What I finally did with my new piece was that I merged rib cage, lung, and a ladybug together. Bones replaced the outer shell of a ladybug, and two pieces of lung became the wings. The finished drawing with ink turned out to be fine, but again I struggled with what to put in the background. I did not think beforehand what kind of setting this mutated ladybug would be in but just wanted to experiment with the idea of merging an insect with human body parts and also this unfamiliar technique of ink drawing.

After a discussion with Ms. Smith, I decided to give the piece a simple green-brownish wash as the background to accentuate the red color in the ladybug. The piece is defined by me as an formal experiment, not a complete drawing, about Surrealism. What I really got from this piece is the idea for my next move: drawing rib cages from observation.

I guess I will soon become good friend with Pablo in the next few days as I am going to draw him naked every day from now on. When I draw I will think about what “to draw from observation” really means, and, if I get any idea, I will turn it into a drawing piece that will fulfill one of RISD’s drawing requirements.

Here we go, off to the final sprint of my portfolio development.

Wish me Luck.

@Williams, Tabor
Oct. 12th, 2015

Leave a Reply